Home > INSPIRE > GALLERIES – ECONOMICS VS. ART

GALLERIES – ECONOMICS VS. ART

OH WELL HERE I GO ON A BIT OF A RANT. I AM THE PREVIOUS OWNER AND OPERATOR OF “HOPE GALLERY” WHICH IS STILL THERE IN BEAUTIFUL BRISTOL RI RUN BY ANITA TREZVANT ( A DEAR FRIEND AND FELLOW ARTIST)
Gallery Shop Display Bar Decor Neon Light Sign

THE PURPOSE HERE IS HELP DEFINE OR AT LEAST UNDERSTAND THE DIVIDING LINE BETWEEN THE ECONOMICS OF RUNNING A GALLERY AND ARTISTIC INTEGRITY..I THOROUGHLY UNDERSTAND THE NEED TO PAY YOUR EXPENSES TO STAY OPEN BUT WHEN THE LINES GET BLURRED AND “ART” TAKES A BACK SEAT – SHOULD WE TAKE ISSUE? ALMOST ALL GALLERIES HAVE A VERY DEDICATED LIST ON MEMBERS THAT IN MOST CASES GIVE THEIR TIME TO KEEP THE ESTABLISHMENT OPEN. MAYBE THE ISSUE HERE IS NOT SO MUCH WITH THE AMOUNT OF SHOWS OR HOUR OF OPERATION BUT IN THE QUALITY OF THE ART ITSELF. MOST SHOW HAVE TO BE JURIED BY PEOPLE WITH FAR MORE EDUCATION THAN I, SO ONE WOULD THINK THAT IF THERE ARE QUALITY ITEMS ENTERED THEN THE JUROR(S) WOULD BE ABLE TO ASSEMBLE AN INSPIRING SHOW. LET ME SAY FOR THE RECORD THAT I NEVER PRE-JUDGE THE SELECTIONS A JUROR MADE. I DO ASK MYSELF THE QUESTION (AS WE ALL DO) “WHAT AM I MISSING” – WELL IF I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE ASKING THIS QUESTION THEN MAYBE , JUST MAYBE IT SPEAKS TO A LOUDER ISSUE. I AM NOT SURE WHAT WOULD PROMPT GALLERIES TO TRY AND RAISE THE BAR HERE IN RI BY OFFERING EITHER BETTER PRIZES OR SOMEHOW ATTRACTING OTHER ART. I WILL SAY FOR THE RECORD THAT I HAVE BEEN TO MANY LOCAL SHOWS AND LOOKED AT PIECES THAT WERE IN THE SHOW BUT HANGING NEXT TO (WHAT I WOULSD CONSIDER) A LESS COMPELLING PIECE THAT TOOK AN AWARD. SO I AM NOT SURE THAT IT IS A QUESTION OF HAVING A LACK OF GOOD ART BUT MAYBE SOMETHING ELSE.

I KNOW MANY VERY GOOD LOCAL ARTIST THAT HAVE BECOME VERY DISENCHANTED WITH THE LOCAL SCENE FOR THESE VERY REASONS. ASK YOURSELF THIS QUESTION – IS IT NOT THE DUTY OF THE JUROR(S) TO ASSEMBLE A SHOW OF THE VERY BESY SUBMISSIONS AND SHOULD IT NOT THEN BE INSPIRING TO LOOK AT A SEE? IF IT IS NOT A REAL QUESTION OF HAVING QUALITY WORK HERE LOCALLY THEN WHAT THEN? I GUESS THIS RANT IS TURNING INTO MORE QUESTIONS THAN ANSWERS. I THINK THAT IF SUBMISSION FEES WERE A BIT HIGHER AND THAT EXTRA MONEY WENT TO THE JUROR(S) AND THEY WERE REQUIRED TO WRITE A BRIEF SENTENCE AS TO WHAT THEY SAW OR DID NOT SEE IN THE IMAGE, IT MAY NOT INFLUENCE THE ARTIST AT ALL BUT AT THE VERY LEAST PUT A LEVEL OF TRANSPARENCY ON THE JUROR(S) TO EXPLAINING WHAT AND WHY (FOR WHATEVER IT MAY BE WORTH) IT SEEMS WE HAVE ALLOWED A SHROUD TO THE JURORS THAT THEY NEED NOT HAVE TO STAND BY THEIR DECISIONS NEVER MIND EXPLAIN THEM. THIS MAY SERVICE YOUNGER ARTIST WELL IN HELPING THEM UNDERSTAND WHAT THEIR WORK MAY BE LACKING IN STEAD OF JUST NOT GETTING IN TO A SHOW AND WONDERING WHY. EVEN IF THE ELEVATED FEE WAS IMPOSED ONLY IF YOU WANTED THE STATEMENT. I RESPECT THE GALLERY OWNERS AND WHAT THEY CONTINUE TO TRY AND PUT OUT, BUT I DO THINK IF SOMEONE WAS SO BOLD AS TO RAISE THE BAR, WHAT WOULD IT YIELD? I AM STILL WAITING TO GO TO A SHOW THAT (FOR THE MOST PART) I AM THOROUGHLY IMPRESSED, INPSPIRED AND THEREFORE MOTIVATED TO GET IN THE NEXT TIME. SO THIS ENDS MY RANT ON VISUAL ART – DON’T GET ME STARTED ON MUSIC AND LITERATURE.

Categories: INSPIRE Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

